“Talk about your Blessings more than your Problems”

998196_222112431276927_1028681067_n

photo credit to Sun Gazing

I just saw this on Facebook (I know, I know… Why even go on Facebook anymore?) and my first thought, as it always is, was: “Don’t tell me what to do!” After I laughed at myself, as I always do, however, I got angry. I am so sick and tired of all of these pithy posts about the wonders of being grateful and positive. Because you know what? If I talked about my blessings more than my problems, I would probably already be one of those shiny happy, joy-filled hippies who goes around giving out free hugs. But I’m not. I’m far too negative and therefore, I need to do something drastic like create a blog that sort of loosely forces me to talk about my blessings.

Is it a good idea? Of course. Does it make sense? Of course. Do I need Facebook to remind me that I suck at it? No. Especially when that reminder comes in the form of Jim (sans Huck) on the raft playing with doves. Seriously; WTF?

My real problem, of course, is that it’s perfectly sound advice that I should follow. Particularly fitting is that I just spent an hour on the phone with my mom, complaining about my problems. It should be noted also that I did this whilst the cleaning lady I just hired cleaned my whole house and my husband and sister-in-law took my son to the zoo. Oy vey.

The thing is that these sort of simple one-liners make it sound so easy. Oh, right. If I just focused on my blessings… I hadn’t realized that focusing on my problems made things worse. Well, duh. Of course I realized that. Everyone realizes that, don’t they? What I need is a step-by-step method of actuating it, not a one-liner that I can just like on Facebook to seem wise to all my friends and acquaintances (or to annoy them, as is probably more accurately the case).

Hmm… buy a self help book, you say, rather than sitting around in my pajamas eating cheese, watching Master Chef and tooling around on Facebook? Do you have a step-by-step method of actuating that? If not, probably not going to happen…

Leave a Reply

